What Sort of Travel Blog Will This Be?

With less than 5 weeks to go I’ve been thinking more about what sort of blog this will be while we’re travelling. I read a lot of travel blogs but my favourites are the ones that are simply personal accounts of a person or family’s travels. I enjoy reading about the practicalities. How did you get there? Where did you stay? How much did it cost? Would you recommend it to others? What did you see and do there? So that’s the sort of blog this will be. Hopefully it will be a great record for us to look back on and might help others planning a similar trip in the future.

I will be continuing the 52 Lists project along the way and will still aim to get a list up as close to each Sunday as possible. If you have any ideas for future list topics let me know!

While we’re travelling I’ll be uploading photos to flickr and iphone pics to instagram. And don’t forget to like the facebook page for quick status updates and notifications of new blog posts.

What sort of information do you like to read in a travel blog?

Prague train station

Prague train station 2005

 

10 Responses to “What Sort of Travel Blog Will This Be?”


  1. 1 where's Sharon (Sharon) June 5, 2013 at 11:46 am

    I like blogs that are like how you describe, so that’s how I write mine! I have always modelled my blog over what I like to read in blogs and this has changed over time (I’ve been writing mine for eight year!!). Looking forward to following your trip 🙂

    • 2 Madeline June 5, 2013 at 11:59 am

      I was thinking of your blog as I was writing that post, Sharon! I loved your little section at the bottom of each post with all the practical info. Might have to copy that. 😉 And yes, my blog has definitely changed over time. I started in 2004 when we were leaving for our first big trip and then that grew into a living overseas blog, a craft blog, a baby blog, then a moving home blog, then a renovating blog, bit of a homebirth blog etc! I decided we needed a fresh bloggy start for this trip but will go back to the other one when we return.

  2. 5 Jean Alaba June 5, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    Seems we like reading similar things in a travel blog. All those, as Sharon has mentioned, are also patterned in my recollections. I value the blogger’s personal opinions because that’s added value to the well-known facts but most of all, I look for the quirky stories which made it a memorable trip.

    Hope you find your niche and decide on how you will be progressing with your travel blog.

    Cheers

  3. 7 Sartenada June 5, 2013 at 10:31 pm

    I love photo blogs, as mine is. Lot of photos; they tell more than thousand words.

  4. 9 Erin Elizabeth June 6, 2013 at 12:02 am

    I love ones with funny stories, not just all the glam. Plus pictures help alot. here is my hiliarious Ecuadorian adventure. Hope you enjoy it.
    http://www.atruetalltale.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

