Travel Purchase – Kinderpack Toddler Carrier

Earlier today

While we’re umming and ahhing about whether to take the stroller or not one thing I have been sure of is that we will need some sort of carrier for Edward. He’ll be 2 and three quarters when we leave, turning 3 halfway though the trip. He likes to walk (or scoot, but we’re not taking the scooter!) but he doesn’t have much stamina.

As a baby, for both kids, we used a connecta carrier. This was great when they were little up to about 12 months or so but I never found it particularly comfortable for back carries. Here’s Lil in the Connecta at four months old in Scotland:

connecta carrier

And Ed at 12 months old in Queensland in the same carrier (I made a cover for it):

walking

Anyway, I’ve passed the Connecta on to a friend with a younger baby and was thinking I would get an Ergo for the trip as it looks more comfy for back carries. Then I read this post from Georgia of Documenting Delight comparing the Ergo with a Tula toddler carrier. Well, I had never heard of the Tula and had no idea there were even carriers out there specifically made for toddlers.

So I did a little research and found the Kinderpack toddler carrier. It looks quite similar to the Tula but ultimately I chose the Kinderpack because of the option to get one with a ‘koolnit’ panel in the back. This is a light mesh type material and is good for warmer climates. The heat and humidity of South East Asia has me a little concerned for comfort in a carrier so the koolnit feature won me over.

The carrier arrived last week and we’ve taken it on a few test runs. We’re calling it the piggyback carrier and Ed is pretty impressed with it so far. I’m not sure what Ed weighs at the moment, I think about 12-13kg. I wore him walking Lillian to school and back one morning and found it quite comfortable and Dave tried it out on the weekend. Here’s another look:

Test ride in our new toddler kinderpack. Hoping this works for our big trip. He liked it!

You can see the koolnit panel in this picture. It looks like the carrier is a bit dirty but that’s Ed’s t-shirt showing through the mesh bit. So let’s hope he likes being carried on the trip!

5 Responses to “Travel Purchase – Kinderpack Toddler Carrier”


  1. 1 Bethaney - Flashpacker Family March 20, 2013 at 1:37 pm

    My son was never interested in being toted around in a carrier. We always had to have a stroller for him. A carrier would definitely make travel a lot easier!

  2. 2 suzy March 22, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    We used an Ergo carrier a lot with older children – when we took Alistair to the US he was two, and it was brilliant for getting him to sleep on the plane and negotiating customs etc. And also for when we were going anywhere with a lot of stairs that wasn’t stroller friendly. And last year when we were house hunting I used it a lot with Milla, because it was the only way to keep her out of mischief at open-for-inspections. I didn’t realise there were toddler-specific carriers, what a great idea.

  3. 3 Travel With Bender (Erin) March 22, 2013 at 2:13 pm

    We are actually looking at getting carrier because our almost 3 yr old wants to be carried ALL THE TIME! We are thining the Manduca, but I;ll take a look at the Tulu thanks,

  4. 4 Joanne March 31, 2013 at 10:31 am

    I too found the carriers hot being Canadian and then going to Australia. So I bought a sling made of mesh that worked a charm because they wanted up and down so much it was easy to get them in and out. That mesh carrier looks awesome. But my baby days are over. Enjoy I wish I could hide in your backpack for Scotland. My aunt lives there and I enjoyed a wonderful year living there before kids.

    • 5 Madeline March 31, 2013 at 3:44 pm

      Thanks for your comment Joanne. I’m really looking forward to Scotland too! We lived there for three years and Lil was born there. Will be good to go back.


Leave a Reply

